About the series

Introductory Level

Join us for a two-part series on working with tenants who actively use substances in supportive housing. This course will cover how service providers can best support tenants through a harm reduction framework as well as guidance to help tenants navigate the substance use treatment system.

Two Part Series

  • October 13: Understanding Substance Use, 1-2:30pm ET, 12-1:30pm CT, 11am-12:30pm MT, 10am-11:30am PT

  • October 20: Helping Tenants Manage Substance Use and Recovery, 1-2:30pm ET, 12-1:30pm CT, 11am-12:30pm MT, 10-11:30am PT

Learner Goals

In this series you will:

  • The origins and pathways to substance use

  • How to navigate the substance use treatment system

  • Supportive housing staff’s specific roles around substance use and unique challenges posed with specific substances, including opioids, fentanyl, alcohol, methamphetamines, and more

Who should take this training?

This course is designed for:

  • Services providers, services coordinators, and case managers

  • Peer specialists

  • Supervisors of supportive services providers

Instructor(s)

Senior Program Manager Jamie Blackburn

Jamie Blackburn is a Senior Program Manager based in New England with over a decade of experience in the non-profit and substance use sectors. She is passionate about Public Health and Harm Reduction and brings a specialty in working directly with chronically homeless individuals who use injection-drugs. Jamie especially enjoys leading trainings that work towards reducing barriers and stigma for the most vulnerable.

Purchasing more than one or multiple courses?

Use the Shopping Cart - Select the button below

To make a bulk purchase or to make a purchase of more than one training. Select the button below. Add the training to your cart and select the quantity to purchase.